The original Mission Santa Clara de Asis was built in 1777. The current structure is a version of the fifth church, which was built in 1825 and destroyed by a fire in 1929. The mission is named for Saint Clare of Assisi, a 13th century Italian nun and cofounder of the Order of Poor Clares. One of the four bells in the mission, which have rung every evening for the last 217 years, was donated by King Carlos IV of Spain in 1798. The landscaping around the mission is pristine and features part of the garden's original adobe wall, built in 1822, as well as rose gardens, a wisteria arbor, and olive trees that date back to the late-Mission period.
Iroriya features upscale Japanese fare in an elegant environment. Sit at the sushi bar or share a... Read more