The Church of the Barefoot Ones, or Chiesa degli Scalzi, was built for the Carmelites and consecrated in 1705. The church was financed by Count Gregoria Cavazza and donated to the Carmelites who took a vow of poverty and relied on outside charity and donations. The facade of the church, designed by Guiseppe Sardi, represents the triumph of the Virgin Mother. A bombing in 1915 destroyed the original ceiling fresco, but the church still has many paintings and frescoes adorning the inside of the church. The church also houses the remains of the last Doge of Venice, Ludovico Manin, who ruled the city until Napoleon took over in 1797.
A bright, classic Italian restaurant, La Porta D'Acqua brings together delicious Venetian cuisine... Read more