Create a personalized day-by-day trip in moments

Today: 9:30am-5:30pm
This Week
Cost: Free

National and Local History

The history of the building which now houses the Pearse Museum and St. Edna's Park begins in 1786, when it was purchased by a doctor who built the structure which stands on it today. Originally known as the Hermitage, this imposing stone house played an important role in the history of Ireland and local resistance to British rule.

The school that Patrick Pearse founded on the same location in 1908 was called Scoil Éanna, and instruction was given in the native tongue of Ireland, Gaelic. Patrick's family, who were also politically active, ran the school after he was executed for this part in the Easter Uprising. The museum was opened in 1979, and is dedicated to both Patrick Pearse and his brother William.

More in Dublin

Boulevard Gallery at Merrion Square

During summer weekends you can stroll around Merrion Square and admire local art as presented by... Read more

Jacob's Pizza

Jacobs Pizza serves pizza of all types, though chips, coffee, burgers, and kebabs are also featured... Read more