The Casino at Marino was designed by Scottish architect Sir William Chambers for James Caulfeild, (the 1st Earl of Charlemont), starting in the late 1750s and finishing around 1775. It is a small and perfect example of Neo-Classical architecture, situated in the gardens of the Marino House. Although proud of the design, it is notable that due to his constant employment in England, Chambers was never able to visit the completed building. The name 'Casino' is the diminutive form of the 18C Italian word 'Casa', meaning 'House', thus 'Little House', and is not used in the modern sense of a gambling establishment. Caulfield was taken with all things Italian and decided to add a 'little house' to his estate, which he had already named after the town of Marino in Lazio.
A highly lauded restaurant named after a funny lizard. What's not to love? The Chameleon restaurant... Read more