The Amalienburg is a hunting lodge in the grounds of Nymphenburg Palace, constructed in 1734-1739. Architect François de Cuvilliés, built the building complete with national Bavarian colors for Holy Roman Emperor Charles VII and his wife, Maria Amalia of Austria. The ground floor contains a spectacular Hall of Mirros, designed by Johann Baptist Zimmermann and Joachim Dietrich. It creates an ethereal atmosphere of silver and blue, the pinnacle of luxury and Rococo design. Take a stroll to this building designed for the seat of royalty.
Bavarian cuisine has a tradition of being hearty, simple, honest food that’s good for the soul—it’s the k... Read more