The Musée de Minéralogie is a museum of mineralogy operated by the École nationale supérieure des mines de Paris (National School of Mines). The school was established in 1783, and the museum itself in 1794. It was quickly enriched by private collections, sometimes seized by the state. Many fine additions were made in short order, and by 1814 the museum contained about 100,000 samples. During the 19th century and early 20th century it continued to acquire excellent collections from around the world. Today the museum is stated to be one of the ten largest mineral collections in the world, containing some 100,000 samples including 80,000 minerals, 15,000 rocks, 4,000 ores, 400 meteorites, 700 gems, and 300 artificial minerals.
The Tuileries Garden is a prominent park positioned between the Louvre Museum and the Place de la... Read more