London’s central criminal court from 1674 until 1913, over the centuries The Old Bailey has been periodically remodeled and rebuilt in ways which both reflected and influenced the changing ways trials were carried out and reported. Although the Old Bailey courthouse was rebuilt several times between 1674 and 1913, the basic design of the courtrooms remained the same. Before the introduction of gas lighting in the early nineteenth century a mirrored reflector was placed above the bar, in order to reflect light from the windows onto the faces of the accused. This allowed the court to examine their facial expressions assess the validity of their testimony. This is a must see for anyone interested in the history of crime.
Eight Over Eight, situated on the ever fashionable Kings Road in Chelsea, lives up to its stylish... Read more