The giant Gibeau orange is a sign that's been hard to miss since 1932. The O.J. cafe sits inside the structure of the orange, which has been in its current form since 1966.
It was a gentleman called Hermas Gibeau who invented the famous neon-colored julep drink and he founded the café in 1932 to sell it. He never lived in the orange as he had intended, and the structure was rebuilt in 1966 to make room for an expanded Expressway. The O.J. is mostly used by locals for lunch or a quick snack. Haute cuisine it isn't. But the eponymous frothy orange julep has its fans. It seems that M. Gibeau was actually onto something with his recipe!
Carefully sourced gourmet spins on rustic Italian cuisine served in an industrial-chic... Read more